Snow

Last winter it only snowed here… Once?  Maybe twice.  What was cool about the second one was that afforded us a White Christmas.  Something I haven’t seen in a long time.

Supposed to snow again, I suppose that’s why I reminded of this-and what still sort of bothers me about it.

We don’t live in the nicest of places, and considering most people in this town are just as financially limited, that’s the bulk of the housing out here.

We see a lot-and I mean a lot-of eviction notices taped to mailboxes.   There are days they’ll slap two or three up at the same time.  Gotta be depressing to find that sort of thing waiting for you.  Even if you know you should expect it.

I had yet to see anyone get “thrown out”.

But the other day, coming home from lunch, I got into the parking lot to find someone had been ejected.  Or rather, their things had been.

Someone had gone into their apartment and carried everything out-piled it in the parking lot, in the snow and ice, and just left it there.  Who knows how much of it that had been there was already taken.  (Bit of thievery around here, too.)

I’d like to think the person just left behind what they couldn’t carry in their car.  A bed, couch, table-bookshelves and big lamps-hard to pack that into a little vehicle if you’re desperate and have to vacate-but can’t afford to move any more than you could afford the rent.

I’d like to think that.  But that evening, everything was finally gone-so I suppose they got help from somewhere.

It was just kind of sad to see.  Someone getting thrown out in this kind of weather, in that kind of way…

“Pay your bills, buddy,” I know, but still… It’s darn cold out there.

I wonder if we’ll start getting used to seeing that sort of thing as well.

I hope not.

 

One thought on “Snow

Leave a comment